Local Heritage List Pilot Areas

The Cornwall Local Heritage List Pilot is being undertaken in two distinct areas.

We encourage anyone with a particular interest in heritage to register their interest via email at LocalList@cornwall.gov.uk 

The ‘Clay Country’, based on the footprint of the china clay industry, is a grossly under-surveyed area, rural and urban, with a wide range of heritage asset types. The area proposed covers 25878 HA, with a population of 70k and includes the parishes of Roche, St Dennis, St Enoder, St Stephen and Treverbyn, plus St Austell, St Blazey, Par, St Mewan, Luxulyan and Fowey.

Redruth town centre has been selected as one of the 10 High Street Heritage Action Zones in the South West. Given the interest in heritage-led regeneration, Redruth’s conservation areas will be another area to pilot the Cornwall Local Heritage List. The map below is of the two conservation areas in Redruth, but we anticipate the pilot project identifying local heritage assets across the wider urban area.